You have to have a license through the state of North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors. If you are doing a job that includes labor and materials, you can do it up to $39,999.99 unlicensed. One thing that you got to have a keen mind on is to make sure that the $39,999.99 threshold includes any proposals or any estimates. So even if you don’t do the job, the fact that you held yourself out as a licensed general contractor and you’re bidding on a job for $40,000 and above is a giant violation of the general statutes.
Anything below $40,000 as of October 1st, 2023, is fine. You don’t have to have a general contractor license in the state of North Carolina to do any sort of work that would be qualified as a general contracting type job.