HOW CAN I BECOME A LICENSED ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR IN NORTH CAROLINA?
The 4 Steps to Become an Electrical Contractor In North Carolina
STEP 1: Choose an Electrical License
- Scope and Classification
- Limited License-allows the licensee to engage in a single electrical contracting project of a value not in excess of sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) and on which the equipment or installation in the contract is rated at not more than 600 volts.
- Intermediate License- allows the licensee to engage in a single electrical contracting project of a value not in excess of one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000).
- Unlimited License- allows the licensee to engage in any electrical contracting project regardless of value.
- Special Classifications
- Residential Dwelling License
- Fire Alarm/Low-Voltage License
- Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning License
- Swimming Pool License
- Groundwater Pump License
- Electric Sign License
- Elevator License
STEP 2: Gain Electrical Experience
- Primary experience: work as a journeyman electrician, electrical foreman, electrical superintendent or college instructor teaching electrical code. Every year you spend on jobs such as these counts as a year of primary experience.
- Secondary experience includes working as an apprentice, a student, an electrical salesperson or an electrical utility line person. A year of work may count as anywhere from a year of experience to a little over a month, depending on which field you work in.
STEP 3: Meet Basic Licensing Requirements
- You must be at least 18 years of age
- Obtain two written statements from at least two people attesting to your good character
- Complete the NC licensing test for whichever of the 10 licenses you’re applying for
STEP 4: Apply for Your Electrical Contractor License!
This is not an extensive or all encompassing list. To learn more about steps and requirements, visit The North Carolina State Board of Electrical Contractors.
Nothing in this blog post is legal advice or establishes the attorney-client relationship. This is for informational purposes only. If you’d like to learn more about professional licensing issues in North Carolina check out our site at www.northstatelawfirm.com or our YouTube site here. 919-521-8810 is the direct line to North State Law.
Written by BréLeigh Stragand, Marketing Assistant